School Board
Information and Members

State Legislators Representing Roseville Public Schools

Or, to find the legislator that represents you, go to:

Contact Us

Various documents are available in alternate formats:
(e.g., assistive listening device kit, large print, CD) upon request.

Please contact Merrie Zakaras at 651-628-6452 or 651-635-1648 (TDD) to make a request prior to the meeting or for any other questions.

Board Meeting

The School Board of Roseville Area Schools supports the educational philosophies and procedures needed to promote a high quality education for all students. The Board holds itself accountable to the citizens of the District ensuring that all action it takes is consistent with law and the Board’s policies that will be based on the best interests of the community and its learners.

In the fulfillment of this charge, the Board is committed to continual improvement of its capacity to govern effectively, using its policies to define its values and expectations. The Board utilizes a policy governance model of operation that focuses on policy decisions rather than on operational issues. It adopts policies that provide general principles for guiding the management of the School District defining “why and what” the District provides, not “how”. The Board’s purpose is to assure that the organization achieves the results described in its Strategic Plan and operates within the parameters described in District policies.

The Board focuses on outcomes for students; encourages diversity of viewpoints; focuses on strategic leadership; makes collective rather than individual decisions; exhibits future orientation rather than past or present; and governs proactively rather than reactively.

While the Board is responsible for school programs and operations by law, it delegates authority for the day-to-day operations of the District to the Superintendent of Schools.

Board Members

School Board Members 2014

Back (left to right): Frank Shaw, Erin Azer, Lisa Edstrom
Front (left to right): Mark Traynor. Kitty Gogins, Kaying Thao

The School Board of Roseville Area Schools has six members elected at large. Elections are held in November of each odd-numbered year. Three School Board members are elected at large to serve a four-year term. The Board holds its annual organizational meeting at its first business meeting in January. At that time, the Board elects the Chair, Clerk and Treasurer for the upcoming year.

General Communication with School Board Members

Board members welcome the opportunity to hear citizen thoughts and discuss issues. Comments or information provided by individual Board members do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of the entire Board.

Board Contact Information

To send an e-mail to all the School Board members at the same time, e-mail them at:

Erin Azer
Term: 1/2012 - 1/2016
1329 Draper Avenue
Roseville, MN 55113

Lisa Edstrom
Term: 1/2012 - 1/2016
949 County Road B
Roseville, MN 55113

Kitty Gogins
Term: 1/2014 - 1/2018
806 Millwood
Roseville, MN 55113

Frank Shaw
Term: 1/2014 - 1/2018
1987 Ryan Avenue W
Roseville, MN 55113

Kaying Thao
Term: 1/2012 - 1/2016
2713 Marion Street
Roseville, MN 55113

Mark Traynor
Term: 1/2014 - 1/2018
1396 Sextant
Roseville, MN 55113

Board Communications

Citizen participation is valued in Roseville Area Schools. We welcome your feedback and encourage you to let us know if you have concerns or have good things to tell us. There are a number of ways residents can communicate with the School Board Members.

COMMUNITY INPUT (recorded and televised) More Information...